Challenge and Change

I like to think that I’m pretty good at change, or, at the very least, not change-averse. I may not be the earliest of technology adopters, but I’m always up for an adventure. Although many changes in the last few years have been overwhelmingly positive in my personal and professional life, it has been a challenge to my ability to wrap my head around the sheer volume of change. Here are few highlights from the last year:

  1. I got married! Admittedly, I found the wedding planning process to be… not the most fun I’ve ever had, but I’m thrilled to proceed with the business of building a life with my new husband. Incidentally, I’m also changing my name, which you will see reflected in this website. Personally, I find the double letters in Meggan Press to be very satisfying.
  2. Speaking of name changes, our college is also pursuing a name change! It’s not official official yet, but it’s certainly created quite the whirlpool among the campus community.
  3. The proposed college name change came on the heels of a tempestuous year, most of which I did not talk about here. In the last year or so, my college has declared financial exigency, laid off 20-ish percent of its already lean faculty and staff, and hired a new president, quickly followed by a new leadership team including provost (whom I am proud to say I had a hand in hiring as a member of the committee), chief marketing officer (a position that, shockingly, has never existed at our institution), vice president of enrollment (position has been largely vacant for the last 2 years), and vice president of business and finance (also vacant for about 2 years). My boss is retiring, which started some reorganization in the library and educational resources, which allowed us to hire a Student Outreach Librarian and also means that I have a “new” job and a “new” boss.
  4. I’m the Teaching and Learning Librarian! I think of it like the Provost of the library. While job duties between librarians are somewhat fluid here – we all pitch in to help where needed – my areas of leadership will be in curriculum, instruction, and faculty liaison-ing. It’s my old job, shifted sideways and deepened. I’m thrilled to be able to largely design my own job and also to shift jobs within my institution, something that I wasn’t sure was possible given the relative size of the college and library.
  5. We added a new person to our team! I’ll introduce our new Student Outreach Librarian when the time is right, but I’d like to report that I’m absolutely over the moon with our new colleague and I cannot wait to get stuck in to making the library even more awesome than it already is.
  6. I’m teaching FYS again this fall! I almost didn’t do it. My experience of last fall was significantly colored by an unusual and upsetting student “event” that came after final grades were posted and lasted into the early weeks of the spring semester. Frankly, in the shadow of that event, I wasn’t feeling great about what I had accomplished or my desire to do it again. Most of my feelings about the class were colored by that final experience. I knew I wanted to teach FYS again, but wasn’t sold on the idea of doing it right away. After a bit of time and some encouragement, I saw the benefit of teaching in consecutive years. It’s easier the second time, they say. You can be sure I’ll report back on that wisdom. I’m keeping my theme of “Cultivating Resilience” but I’m changing things around a bit. It has new texts (featuring readings from Carol Dweck’s Mindset) and a new project (problem-based learning for the win!) and, of course, new students and new personalities to navigate. I’m excited and also nervous. Seems about right.

And, so, you see where my head has been the last months. It seems absurd to say “now that things have settled down a bit” in proximity to the start of fall semester, but truly that is how I feel. Now that things have settled down a bit, I hope to spend more time in this space. I have another post idea lined up, but, well, you know how change can be. While sometimes you can see change coming, you can’t always predict people’s or institutions’ reactions to it. In many ways, I feel a kinship with my FYS students who are asked to consider their resiliency and personal and community responses to challenge and change. Hmmm, how might I incorporate that into class…..?

What’s changed in your life recently?

2 thoughts on “Challenge and Change

  1. Sarah B says:

    I love this update! Good luck with all the changes, but it sounds like you have some amazing opportunities in your work! 🙂

  2. varellano says:

    Congrats on your wedding! That’s wonderful news. I think you have a really healthy perspective on change, when can be so challenging when too many changes occur all at once. Good luck for the coming school year!

Leave a Reply

