Winter

I have been quiet in this space lately. It’s hard to know what to say. I’d like to talk more about FYS, but I’m currently dealing with some circumstances relating to final grades that are not appropriate to talk about here, and those circumstances are coloring my experience. I don’t have more to say except to reiterate my last post on the subject: Policy is black-and-white while people are grey. Assessment is helpful except when it isn’t. What and how we choose to assess may provide more murkiness than clarity.

In the midst of the murkiness, a few huge points of light have emerged. Last Friday I gave a webinar at the SUNYLA Midwinter Conference titled “Graphic Design for Maximum Engagement.” The webinar went really well and I got some great questions. I was very happy, not only because I felt the webinar went well but also because the 20-minute webinar is the seed for some much larger happenings this spring. I am so pleased to tell you that you will find me at LibTech and LOEX presenting an expanded and enriched version of that webinar. In addition, I will be able to attend ACRL this spring through the support of my college and an Early Career Librarianship Scholarship from ACRL.

It seems it will be a spring of presentations and travel. I will be traveling not only to conferences but also back to Michigan a few times because, you guys, I’m getting married and we decided it would be a good idea to do that in less than 6 months. I’m in that excited/overwhelmed/grateful place where I’m not quite sure what I’m feeling at any given time. I imagine the feeling will continue for a while. In the mean time, it will probably be quiet around here a bit more than usual.

What are you looking forward to this spring?

One thought on “Winter

  1. Congratulations! I’d also love to check out your slidedecks for your upcoming conferences. Maybe even a feature on Librarian Design Share?

    As for what I’m looking forward to this spring:
    1. The tulips and daffodils in my garden
    2. Finally writing and submitting an article based on my big ACRL AiA project.
    3. Portland, ACRL 2015 in just a few days!

Leave a Reply

