Link Tuesday

It’s Tuesday of the second to last week of school. Let’s celebrate with some links. I’m the proverbial duck at the moment, gliding along on top of the water with my feet paddling furiously underneath. When school’s out and I can finally rest my poor ducky feet, I have some exciting news to share. Well, exciting to me, anyway.

Work is work. “You can only do what you love as long as someone else makes sure the toilet isn’t backing up.”

I didn’t love the Veronica Mars movie, but I sure do love the TV series. The depiction of wealth inequality is just one reason.

Finally, science to back up what I’ve been saying all along about the 10,000 hour rule: “In other words, practice is great! But practice alone won’t make you Yo Yo Ma. It could also have to do with personality, the age you started, intelligence, or something else entirely. ” I’m willing to put money down that “something else entirely” is opportunity.

You’ve seen the National Geographic shots, but do you know what’s right outside the frame?

Words have meaning. Are you “interested in” something or are you actually doing the thing? Move what you do closer to you in the sentence and watch the power change. “I’m interested in connecting communities to information” becomes “I connect communities to information.”

A Rough Guide to Spotting Bad Science could be useful for information literacy instruction and for guiding students to question the methods they might use in their own research.

Relatedly, this article give some really good examples on how to lie with data visualization.

Shared by my friend Kim, this article sparked an interesting discussion and thought process for me. I think it glosses over some of the realities of community colleges (for instance, some of the non-completion rates could be partially attributed to students taking partial degrees before finishing at a traditional school, or to students taking summer courses and transferring credits.) but I completely agree that for the right student, this type of counseling could be the difference between success and failure.

The director of the Academic Success Center shared this article on establishing relevance with me. As a student, I want to know where we’re going and why we’re headed there. I also want to know that the professor has a plan and isn’t just winging it.

Department of Random: The History of Jazz Piano in 11 minutes. Somewhat filtered (and between you and me, the stride piano section isn’t nearly as impressive as it could be) but super entertaining.

 

Leave a Reply

